Judeo-christian holidays are always highly entertaining to me. Especially because most of them are based on celebrations and ‘religious holidays’ of cultures that they violently assimilated.

The reason I say this is because this particular day is no exception to that rule. Easter itself’s name is derived from the germanic goddess Ostara, who’s own pagan Sabbat falls on or around the 21st of March. Ostara in her original form is known as Ēostre or Ēastre in old english or of course the high germanic name Ôstarâ which is where we modern pagans derive her name from. Honestly, the lack of proper letter accenting is just laziness on our part. But hey, we’re allowed. It’s OUR celebration.

A little further information on her for you from wikipedia. And yes, I know Wikipedia is an evil propaghanda machine, and I do not reference it often. But this information in particular, I’ve verified through other sources. Wikipedia: Eostre is attested only by Bede, in his 8th century work De temporum ratione, where he states that Ēostur-monath was the equivalent to the month of April, and that feasts held in her honor during Ēostur-monath had died out by the time of his writing, replaced by the "Paschal month."

So there you have it. The so-called rebirth of Jesus celebration is directly ripped off from celebrations that exsisted long before Christianity. Or more accurately, long before Christianity touched the regions they originate from at the very least.

Now, this maybe a little over analytical of me, but how could one possibly follow or believe in a religion that has been proven to have ripped off other religions blantantly? To be fair, one could say the same about modern paganism in some ways, especially when looking at Wicca in particular. Fair enough. But the difference is simply that Wiccans and other Pagans don’t pretend they invented this celebrations. They openly acknowledge the cultures and people that originally spawned them.

It’s called respect. Not only for other cultures and religions, but the very origins of spirituality in the world. I’ve tried to be respectful for the past few years towards all religions, even the catholic and christian ones. But quite frankly, respect is earned, and no matter how hard I try, I cannot see any reason to respect them. I mean honestly, how am I supposed to respect a religious institution that doesn’t even follow its own rules?

I’m not one to get hung up on the inquisition or stuff like that, simply because just as many ‘good christians’ and members of other religions were burned as witches were, if not more. But hello!? What part of ‘thou shalt not kill’ did they fucking miss? Same goes for the Crusades! You expect me to respect and harmonize with faschist hypocrites? Fuck that. I’m done ‘harmonizing’.

Here’s something I picked up off of Facebook that amused me greatly:

I See Dumb People

I think that about covers it. Happy Easter kiddies.

