“If you take the Christian Bible and put it out in the wind and the rain, soon the paper on which the words are printed will disintegrate and the words will be gone. Our bible IS the wind and the rain.” Herbalist Carol McGrath

I have been a follower of the pagan path since I was but a boy discovering his world at the age of 13. I had the fortune of having a best friend who’s mother was a new age spiritualist, and though christian in a sense, her mind was never closed. She had piles of books on every subject from UFOs to Wicca and even Satanism.

My own mother, though agnostic, never ever tried to enforce a set of beliefs on her children. She always supported whoever, and whatever we wanted to be. I was extremely lucky in this respect.

So when my best friend got his hands on a book entitled The Modern Practice of Witchcraft written by a fellow named Robin Skelton, and showed it to me, we were of course all over it. I mean imagine it. A young, nature loving, boy desperate to understand himself and his world finding a book that not only explains a lot of the feelings he’s been trying to understand, but tells him that magick is real.

Many more books followed of course. Celtic Magic by DJ Conway, Wicca and Living Wicca by Scott Cunningham, just to name a couple favorites. It’s now been 16 years since those formative days. When my eyes were newly opened to a universe so much more amazing and intricate then I could have imagined.

That same friend that introduced me to that which is a part of the very fabric of my exsistance asked me how I was able to stay dedicated to the Goddess and my beliefs without wavering. Most of the time I’ve just brushed off the question with a shrug of my shoulders. Now though, I am going to finally answer that question.

So how does one remain devout and dedicated to the Goddess? I answer with a question: How does one remember to breathe? After everything I have experienced and known, after every successful spell and ritual, after every guiding dream, and omen pointing the way, how could I NOT be as dedicated today as the day (well night) of my initiation?

The Gods have given me everything I have ever wanted or asked for, and more. No matter how silly, or materialistic. When I have performed a ritual, weaved a spell, or even straight up asked for a specific result, I have recieved exactly what I sought. I have felt Cerridwen’s touch in my mind, expanding my wisdom. I have felt Dian Cécht‘s power healing my spirit and knitting my flesh. But most importantly I have always felt the warm embrace of the Earthmother surrounding my very exsistance, protecting me and keeping me safe.

Many would say that I am an extremely lucky person. I always manage to get out of the worst situations, no worse for wear. But luck has very little to do with it. I am guided and protected by the Gods and the Fae, and I hope I always will be. I am an adaptive survivor yes, but this is only enhanced by the above beings.

So there is my answer. Take it as you will.

